Sherlock Holmes and the Three Poisoned Pawns [eBook (paperback version also available)]

by Emanuel Garcia, Roger Jaynes & Eddie Maguire

A collection of three stories



Buy from Amazon

Product Description

Sherlock Holmes and the Three Poisoned Pawns includes three separate Sherlock Holmes adventures, each ingenious and entertaining in their own right. At some stage during each of the short stories someone or something, which at first appears trivial, reveals itself to be far more significant – like a pawn which is said to be ‘poisoned’ in the game of chess.

The first, entitled The Mystery of Hamlet , by Emmanuel E. Garcia is set in 1938. Holmes is considerably older but his appetite for deciphering mysteries remains as strong as ever. He applies his science of deduction to literature and the possibility of a new interpretation of Shakespeare’s classic, Hamlet.

The second story, Roger Jayne’s The Belgravian Letter , settles in the more familiar surroundings of London and concerns the death of Sir Arthur Wilcox, a high-ranking civil servant. Sir Arthur was set to depart for Athens on an important diplomatic mission; however the discovery of his dead body next to his open safe sparks fears regarding the safety of the Government. Nonetheless, Sherlock Holmes has other ideas.

Finally, Eddie Maguire provides an extraordinary account in The Highcliffe Invitation . Holmes and Watson are invited to Dorset for the weekend unaware that the Kaiser wishes to meet them. Soon some of the Kaiser’s personal possessions go missing and what starts as a theft culminates in a potential assassination plot.

Sherlock Holmes and the Three Poisoned Pawns is a gripping collection of British murder mysteries.

‘A treat for any Holmes fan.’ – Robert Foster, best-selling author of The Lunar Code.

Additional Information


Emanuel Garcia, Roger Jaynes & Eddie Maguire




Endeavour Press




2008 (book) 2016 (ebook)